We cannot print you a new certificate. the State is the only people that can do that.
But we can help!
you have two options:
1. Consult the NJ Marine Services Bureau's website at:
2. Send us an email, and we can help you through the process.
It is an endorsement on your New Jersey Driver’s License or ID card that allows you to operate a vessel on non-tidal waters. It is not a replacement for your Boating Safety Certificate, but an additional required document for non-tidal waters.
We provide both public and private boating safety courses. Check the upcoming events calendar for future public classes, or contact us to schedule a private course.
Yes. However, after successful completion of the internet portion of the course, the student will have to complete an in-person, proctored exam. The Marine Services Bureau cautions students, prior to beginning the on-line study, to check with the on-line course provider to insure they provide a testing location within driving distance from the student’s location.
We have partnered with Boat-Ed.com and Boatersexam.com; as a testing location. Check the upcoming events calendar for future testing/proctor events
New Jersey Marine Services Bureau regulates boating education and licensing requirements.
The easiest answer to this question is yes, but there are always a few exceptions.
Review the NJ boating Safety manual for more information (pages 2 and 3)
The answer to this is maybe.
Check our services Registration page for our current course rates.
The Boating Safety Certificate received from the NJSP Marine Bureau does not expire.
If your obtaining an endorsement on your drivers license to have a "boating license". This "Boat license" will expire along with your Automobile Drivers License, but both normally require a simple visit to the DMV for a renewal.
Yes, New Jersey and Federal regulations recognize PWC's (Wave runners) as full-fledged powerboats. As such these vessels adhere to the same if not more stringent regulations.
After you successfully complete and earn your NJ boating safety certificate:
13 years of age but less than 16 years of age
16 years of age and older
This option has expired (2009) and is no longer available.
Only people over the age of 16 and hold a NJ boating safety certificate are permitted to operate a PWC in NJ state waters.
PWC's are not permitted on the waters of New Jersey between sunset and sunrise, or during any time of restricted visibility as determined by an agent or officer of the Marine Law Enforcement Bureau, Division of State Police
For Safety considerations PWC's are not authorized within the confines of the Point Pleasant Canal in Ocean County, or the Cape May Canal located in Cape May County.
If there is water - It's a good place to ride a PWC.
If it is your first time on a PWC take it slow at first until you get the hang of it.
If you are looking for new places to ride - look on Facebook for local PWC clubs, and or checkout https://www.pwctrailfinder.com/
Only if you intend to fish from your personal boat, or the shore
Yes, Although this license is free - Fines between $25 to $50 that would have been better spent on fishing bait could be imposed for anglers caught without this free license.
Yes, Well at-least Generally.
An Engine Cut-Off Switch is a safety mechanism used to shut the boats engine off when the operator is thrown the helm.
Boaters operating recreational boats less than 26 feet in length must use an Engine Cut-Off Device (ECOS) link if one is installed.
Boats less than 26 feet in length that generate more than 115lbs of static thrust (roughly 2hp) and were built beginning in January 2020 must have a ECOS installed.
Not unless the boat was built on or after 1 JAN 2020. The installation requirement applies to manufacturers,
The boat is operated from an enclosed helm.
Although the pontoon boat is 24ft long, we are limited by our USCG inspection to a maximum of 6 passengers.
Which ever your preference keep in mind that temps on the water tend to be a little cooler than temps on land. Once the sun starts going down it can get a little chilly, so bring something warm to throw over just in case.
It is also suggested to wear clothing that can get wet. It wouldn't be the first time I got a unexpected splash from a wave runner.
We also have a pop-up changing room, but to be honest I haven't figured out how to successfully use it.
We are currently only booking by reservation.
Absolutely It wouldn't be a proper day on the water without a cold drink or snack in your hand!
Our boat is BYOB for guests 21+ (please bring valid ID). We provide ice, water, and a large cooler. Due to the moving nature of the boat, canned beers, seltzers, and premixed drinks are preferred.
Please enjoy responsibly. The captain reserves the right to end tours early due to intoxicated/unruly passengers. No refund will be issued.
We currently do not have a restroom onboard at this time.
Our primary port is Burlington City's Public boat ramp. but we have also conducted tours out of West Deptford and Salem NJ
We stare at the weather reports and weather radar so much that it is likely getting to a unhealthy point. We do our best to schedule our tours around and between spouts of weather.
We can't guarantee that there won't be a little sprinkle / rainbow magic, but we can guarantee we won't resemble a wet rat.
Yes, at the full boat rate.
Our vessel can accommodate some persons with handicaps, however because of the nature of our smaller vessels, tides, and floating docks we cannot guarantee every scenario will be accessible.
Please contact us at Admin@WhitmanMarineTraining.com so we can try to meet your needs.
Strollers are permitted but must be folded up and stored during the ride.
Car seat style child carriers are not permitted on the vessel.
Children are not permitted in "backpack" style carriers when on our vessel. We understand feeding requirements, but are leaning to safety.
All Children less than 90lbs must wear a Life Jacket when on the vessel. No exceptions - USCG requirement.
Unfortunately no, only service animals are permitted.
Please keep in mind that every tour has expenses that are made prior to the cruise. They could include prepping the boat for your special trip, getting special ramp permits, scheduling different personnel, scheduling with caterers, etc
General Cancellation Policy:
Weather Cancellation Policy:
See our above rain policy, We will do our best to make your cruise happen. We may ask to bump the cruise up an hour, or back an hour to work with the forecast. We try to remain as flexible as possible with the weather.
If necessary we will work to reschedule your tour on our next available slot.
By calling us and booking over the phone you can save a 6% fee imposed by our scheduling platform - 856.441.0242
Also Watch our FB page for updates, we are always running a sale on something.
Whitman Marine Training - (856) 442-0421
Copyright © 2023 Whitman Marine Training - All Rights Reserved.